Do you know what love is, I want you to know.

So I was talking to a friend of mine a week or so ago, and she startled me by asking me to help her LOVE more, to be honest, we were talking about GOD and spiritual things, so it might not be as random as it sounds. I thought for a minute, and said you need to forgive more to love more. You need to start with yourself, it always starts with you- all this spiritual work, always starts with you.
You need to forgive yourself, for being you, for the harm you have caused yourself and others, and then let it go!
I decided to preach about my thoughts on Love Sunday, so I was pondering it all week, I spoke to a friend of mine who is a therapist, his first thought was , tell her to get rid of the anger! So I said isn’t that the flip side of the forgiveness card?
So I started re-reading Anthony De Mello’s “The way to Love”, it’s a awesome little book that I would highly recommend to everyone, to help refresh myself on the differences between Love and Attachment. See many, if not all of us , at least some of the time confuse Love and Attachment, if it has a condition to it, its attachment. That can be a very difficult thing to separate, we are conditioned in our lives to think they are the same thing most of the time, they are not. She didn’t do the laundry the way I like, he didn’t cut the lawn the way I told him to(the secret is ladies, we screw up on purpose, so you don’t ask us to do it again) she knows I like the house cleaned “my way”,  that’s Attachment.
Love has no conditions, to truly forgive and love, especially those who you persecute you, that’s the key, its also the hardest past for many of us. That’s the only way to Truly be free, is to get rid of your attachment to any out come, what ever that is. Let others be free to do as they wish without judgement or thought to outcome on your part. Love them enough to set them free.

 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

 From 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 :Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

I cant improve on that!
I also get into Revelation 21, where the author gets into the “New Heaven and a New Earth”, I love it, because like all scripture, you can understand it on many levels. Of course, I think he is talking about a new conscience, a new understand of God, of course God doesn’t change its our understanding of HIM\HER that changes. A great read on the subject is Eckart Tolle’s book, a New Earth, well worth the time to read .
Take a listen, let me know what you think.

 

 

Leave a Reply

